The Community Council usually meets each month in the Hall. Meeting dates are posted on the Shop Notice Board. Meetings are open to all on the island.

Current Community Councilors are:

David Hobhouse, Alex Howard, Jane Howard, Kevin Byrne, Hellen Mann, Liz McNicholl and Richard Butterick. 

We can be contacted at Our own website is at  The Community Council administers a Common Good Fund, and details will be found on our website.

Colonsay may have up to ten Community Councillors and by-elections are held twice each year to fill any vacancies.  Notice of by-elections are posted in the Service Point and shop notice boards.

Community Councils are the most local tier of statutory representation in Scotland. They bridge the gap between local authorities and communities, and help to make public bodies aware of the opinions and needs of the communities they represent.

Their primary purpose is to ascertain and express the views of the community to the local authority and other public bodies. Many Community Councils also involve themselves in a wide range of other activities including fundraising, organising community events, undertaking environmental and educational projects and much more.

The objectives of Colonsay Community Council, as set out in our constitution, are:

  • To ascertain, co-ordinate and reflect the views of the community which it represents, to liaise with other community groups within the area, and to fairly express the diversity of opinions and outlooks of the people;
  • To express the views of the community to the local authority for the area to public authorities and other organisations;
  • To take such action in the interests of the community as appears to it to be desirable and practicable;
  • To promote the well-being of the community and to foster community spirit;
  • To be a means whereby the people of Colonsay shall be able to voice their opinions on any matter affecting their lives, their welfare, their environment, its development and amenity.

Saty tuned for island happenings...